The 40th Annual Ken Roberts Memorial Delineation Competition is now accepting your submissions. This is one of my favorite competitions because of the wide range of styles and techniques that win each year. It is open to students and professionals and can be either a physical submission, digital illustration, or hybrid media.  I was lucky enough to be one of three jurors last year and was blown away by the art that I saw. I came away from the experience with a lot of inspiration and motivation to keep experimenting.

This year’s competition includes a stellar list of jurors including Frank Ching (I own two of his books as do probably most architecture students and professionals), Thomas Sériès who is the founder of Labtop, and Clifford Welch who is the owner of Welch Architecture.

The submission deadline is October 27th, 2014 5pm CST. Winners will be announced Thursday, November 20th, 2014 6pm CST.

Below are some of the winners from last year. Be sure to also visit the KRob website and thumb through the past winners. There is some real beautiful work and inspiration hidden away in the archives. Good Luck!





Castaneda Eduardo, AIAS UT Arlington- President

UT Arlington

Best in Category – Student Digital/Mixed





Chris Cornelius 


Best in Category – Professional Digital/Mixed





Samara Hayes

Abedian School of Architecture, Bond University

Best in Category – Student Hand





Dustin Wheat

University of Texas – Arlington

Best in Category – Professional Hand






Changyeob Lee

Royal College of Art

Juror Citation





Gary Schuberth, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP

Juror Citation





Matthew Bohne

Rhode Island School of Design